‘On Her Majesty’s Alien Service’ – Rainbow Snippets (1)

I’m back again with a peek into one of my WIPs for the Rainbow Snippets FB group.

This time I’m turning to a WIP I’ve had on my to-do list for nearly three years! It’s an Earth-based sci fi romantic comedy which has the working title ‘On Her Majesty’s Alien Service’. Delvin Charters works for the British government in the Ministry of Alien Relations, and he’s about to have an alien relationship of his own.

Think along the lines of a very British Men In Black, with biscuits rather than guns.

Here we have Devlin talking to Clive, a colleague who has arrived to work a little worse for wear having had a difficult night his assigned visitor.

 

Clive rubbed his eyes. “She’s supposed to get tired though, and last night she got wilder and wilder. I had to stop her was stripping off and dancing on the table at the last club. I’m getting too old for this.”

“You’re twenty-four. Hardly in your dotage.”

“Says Mr. Nine-to-Five-at-Thirty Charters,” groused Clive, resting his on his crossed arms on the desk in front of them.

“I’ve done it, Clive. I’ve had more than my fair share of late nights and early mornings, not to mention one particularly memorable occasion trying to balance hyper-metabolism with an allergy to concrete, so I chose not to take those assignments now I don’t have to.”

15 thoughts on “‘On Her Majesty’s Alien Service’ – Rainbow Snippets (1)

  1. AM

    Oh, man. “trying to balance hyper-metabolism with an allergy to concrete” definitely sounds like it would wear on one’s patience.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: ‘On Her Majesty’s Alien Service’ – Rainbow Snippets (1) – cherylheadford

  3. rhodrymavelyne

    First off, I fell in love with your title! 🙂 I love the play on ‘In Her Majesty’s Secret Service’! 🙂 Your snippet definitely lived up to the promise of your title! 🙂 Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

