Guest Blog – Meet Jimmy Patterson from What’s in a Name? by Pat Henshaw

KMIMWIANBanner300x250

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Cover Artist: AngstyD
Categories: Contemporary, Fiction, Gay Fiction, M/M Romance, Romance

Blurb:
Barista Jimmy Patterson thinks it’s a good idea to get rip-roaring drunk on his birthday after he’s dumped by his boyfriend. When the burly owner of Stonewall’s Bar rescues Jimmy, the night starts to look up.

Now Jimmy just wants to know the bartender’s first name since he’s worn a different name tag every time Jimmy’s seen him. “Guy” Stone gives Jimmy seven guesses, one for each night he takes Jimmy out on a date.

While Jimmy’s trying to come up with his name, he’s distracted by the destruction of his coffee shop and what looks more and more like a hate crime.

Character interview: Jimmy Patterson, owner, barista, and creative director of Penny’s Coffee Shop

How did you get yourself so drunk on your birthday?
Um, I wasn’t trying to get drunk. Really, I wasn’t. My boyfriend Alex and I’d gone to Stonewall because my friends wanted to have a little party, a few laughs, before Alex and I went to dinner. So I had a Flat Tire beer. No problem. I’m thin and wiry, not too tall, so I know I can’t drink very much. After my friends left, Alex bought me another Flat Tire and a tequila chaser. I’m not one to mix beer and hard liquor, but when one of Alex’s new friends bought me another round of Tire and tequila, well, I had to drink it, didn’t I? While Alex and this other twink talked, I sat at the bar and talked to the bartender, whom I’d gotten to know pretty well over the past year. He and I had a few laughs. I had a few more beers? I can’t quite remember. Anyway, the whole thing snowballed. Really, if you read the book, you’ll see that I didn’t mean to get drunk and vomit everywhere. I really didn’t. I’m not that kind of guy.

What did you really feel when you first set eyes on ‘Guy’?
One of the security guards at the mall where my coffee shop is located mentioned that Stonewall had this drop dead gorgeous bartender that everyone was trying to lay. At the time, this luscious guy everyone called “Stone” was working the later shift, later than my boyfriend Alex and I went to a bar on a week night. So I talked Alex into going there one night around 9:30, and there he was. Stone was a pretty accurate description of how he made everyone’s dick feel when they saw him. He’s tall, maybe six two or so, and ripped. When I first saw him, his bald head and his bare chest were shining with sweat, and his tight leather pants looked like they were about to burst. You could just feel the lust steaming from all the men who were flitting around him. What did I feel? Just as horny as everyone else in the bar, what else?

Favourite childhood memory?
I don’t have a lot of those. My parents didn’t really want children, so when my sister and I were born, they tried to ignore us as much as possible. Fortunately, I had Felicity and Fredi to play with as well as my sister Penny, so it wasn’t all bad. I try to think about my childhood as little as possible. Who wants to wallow in the trough when he’s left the farm far behind? Not me. No, it wasn’t really a farm, but you get the picture, right?

Ideal date?
I describe two of them in the book. If those aren’t ideal, I don’t know what is! On the book’s website (http://whatsinanamenovella.blogspot.com), I’ll be describing and giving links to some of the great restaurants and cafes where readers can go and get special meals around the country. One of my favorites is a restaurant overlooking the Pacific that’s on the Big Sur coast of California. Another’s an historic inn in Williamsburg, Virginia. Oh, yes, and there’s a wonderful restaurant in Texas called the Hilltop Herb Farm. Readers will just have to check the website because I’ll be putting them up there as I remember them.

Will we see more of you in forthcoming books?
Yeah, you will. The book after mine, Redesigning Max, is about my good friend Fredi, who’s a well-known architect and designer. He meets outdoorsman Max Greene, and talk about two people you’d think would have nothing in common. Turns out, though, they have more in common than Guy and I do! Then after that, in the third book, The Behr Facts, you can read about the Behr brothers who own the construction company that did the work on my second coffee shop, Penny’s Too. Not all of them get a happy ending like my friend Fredi and I did, which is too bad. But one of them does.

Excerpt:

Stonewall [Saloon] was chaos when I got there. Guy and another bartender were mixing drinks as fast as they could. I squeezed in at the end of the bar near the hatchway and sat on an abandoned stool there.

I didn’t think Guy had seen me come in, so when there was a lull in the frenetic pace and he was nearly within arm’s reach, I called out, “What’s a guy gotta do to get a drink in this place?”

Guy looked up, grinned at me, and yelled back, “Fuck the bartender.”

A slim man sitting next to me perked up, gave Guy the once-over, and yelled, “Okay!”

Guy’s startled gaze met mine, and we broke out laughing.

The man next to me sighed and slumped over his beer. “I knew it was too good to be true,” he mumbled.

I patted him on the shoulder.

“Maybe next time,” I commiserated with him.

“Right,” he answered glumly.

Sales Links http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5965
Rafflecopter Prize: One of two Starbuck’s Gift Cards
Rafflecopter Code: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Bio: Born in the Heartland of Nebraska, Pat Henshaw has made America hers by living in Texas, Colorado, Northern Virginia, and Northern California. She has found joy in visiting Mexico, Canada, Europe, Nicaragua, Thailand, and Egypt, and relishes trips to Rome, Italy, and Eugene, Oregon, to see family.

Pat has spent her life surrounded by words: Teaching English composition at the junior college level; writing book reviews for newspapers, magazines, and websites; helping students find information as a librarian; and promoting PBS television programs.

Two of her fondest memories are touching time when she put her hands on the pyramids and experiencing pure whimsy when she interviewed Caroll Spinney (Big Bird and Oscar the Grouch). Her triumphs are raising two incredible daughters who daily amaze her with their power and compassion. Her supportive husband keeps her grounded in reality when she threatens to drift away writing fiction.

Where can you find the author?:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pat.henshaw.10
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6998437.Patois
Book website: http://whatsinanamenovella.blogspot.com
Website: http://patbooked.blogspot.com
E-mail: whatsinanamenovella@comcast.net
Tumblr: http://phenshaw.tumblr.com/

WillPride

Leave a Reply

